Have you ever considered subleasing your mobile home in California? Or maybe you’re interested in purchasing a mobile home to rent out and make some side cash. Well, here is all you need to know about subleasing a mobile home in California.
First and foremost, subleasing is allowed in California. But, there are certain restrictions regarding the price of your rental, how long they can stay, and what the tenant is expected. Although you are allowed to sublease your mobile home, there are some restrictions that follow. According to the California Mobile Home Residency Law, Tenants are allowed to sublease their home if they have a medical condition or emergency which will not allow them to be present in their home. This needs to be confirmed in writing by a medical physician in order for the management park to approve your sublease.
The minimum terms for the sublease are 6 months and the maximum is 12 months. If spoken with and approved by the management, these terms may be extended or shorter. Typically, the mobile home management office will need to approve the new tenant and make sure they are a good fit for the mobile park. The management may also charge a credit screening fee to cover the costs of the credit agency which will run the report.
It is important to note that the new tenant must comply with all park rules and regulations or you and your tenant can risk eviction or warnings. The homeowner will remain liable for rent and utility charges. Depending on the park, you may also have had to live in the mobile home park for a minimum of one year before you are allowed to sublease. so if you’re looking for a quick rental property, mobile home parks may not be your best bet. Finally, you may not charge your sublease tenant anymore than what is required to pay rent, park fees, and any and if loan payments.